Dr. Jeff Walling Appointed Head of RF Transceivers

We’re delighted to announce that Dr. Jeff Walling has been appointed to Head of Group for RF transceivers at MCCI. We are delighted to have him on board to drive the research agenda for our Transceivers research pillar.

He joins the centre from the University of Utah where he held an Associate Professorship in the Department of Electrical Engineering, and will continue to hold an Adjunct roll there. Dr. Walling brings to the role a wealth of industry experience including time at Motorola where he was involved in cellular handset development and at Intel where he was involved in highly digital transmitter architectures and CMOS power amplifiers.

He has authored over 50 articles in peer-reviewed journals, refereed conferences and has multiple awards for teaching and research excellence. His research interests include low-power wireless circuits, high-efficiency digital transmitter architectures, and power amplifier design.

Dr. Walling received the B.S. degree from the University of South Florida, Tampa, in 2000, and the M.S. and Ph. D. degrees from the University of Washington, Seattle, in 2005 and 2008, respectively. He is currently an associate professor in the ECE Department at University of Utah, where he has been since 2012. His group performs research on wireless transceivers and sensor circuits for high speed communications and the Internet-of-Things. He has authored >70 peer-reviewed and refereed journal and conference papers and holds four patents with six pending.

He is Head of RF Transceivers at MCCI, and is an Adjunct Professor at University of Utah. He serves on the program committee for IEEE RFIC and IEEE NEWCAS. He received the Outstanding Teaching Award at University of Utah in 2015, the HKN Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2012 at Rutgers University, the Best Paper Award at Mobicom 2012, the Yang Award for outstanding graduate research from the EE Department at University of Washington in 2008, an Intel Predoctoral Fellowship in 2007-2008, and the Analog Devices Outstanding Student Designer Award in 2006.